The National Electrical Contractors Association was founded in 1901 to promote and advance the fledgling electrical industry. The Wisconsin Chapter of NECA was established on November 1, 1962. The chapter was formed when the Eau Claire Chapter and Madison Chapter relinquished their charters and combined with numerous independent contractors from Janesville, Racine, Green Bay and Manitowoc.

The Wisconsin Chapter encompasses the entire State of Wisconsin including Allamakee County (Local Union #14), with the exception of the Milwaukee/Sheboygan area (Local Union #494), Douglas County (Local Union #242), and Grant County (Local Union #704).

(See Division Map).

Our chapter is governed by a Chapter Board of Directors and a Chapter Governor, who represent the members. The Directors are elected by their respective divisions, and are led by the Chapter President. The Governor is elected by the entire membership body.

On January 8, 1963, the first annual membership meeting was held, at which time C.R. (Sam) Stocks of Eau Claire was elected the first Governor of the new chapter. By this time E. P. (Mose) Dixon had been hired as Chapter Manager, and the new chapter was off and running. The Wisconsin Chapter then had 45 charter members.

Today the Wisconsin Chapter has over 40 members. (See Membership for a complete list). Below are some of the accomplishments of the chapter and its members over the years.

Members of the Academy of Electrical Contracting:

Loyal O’Leary
Robert Van Ert
Michael E. Kelliher
Gerald Schulz
Jerome S. Hill
William D. Plummer

National Award Winners:

2013 NECA Distinguished Executive Service Award – Loyal D. O’Leary
2013 NECA District IV Vice President – Gerald Schulz
2010 NECA District IV Man of the Year – Gerald Schulz
1998 Comstock Award Winner – Jerome S. Hill
1996 NECA Distinguished Executive Service Award – Ronald O. Steiner
1994 District IV Man of the Year – Jerome S. Hill
1983 to 1986 NECA District IV Vice President – William D. Plummer
Council on Industrial Relations Members – E.A. Busch, Jerome S. Hill
NECAPAC Awards (Wisconsin Chapter) – 1993, 1994, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019

State and Local Award Winners:

2011 University of Wisconsin College of Engineering Construction Club Lifetime Achievement Award – Gerald Schulz

Chapter Award Winners:

2020 Ronald O. Steiner Award – John Gerlach
Ronald O. Steiner Award – Loyal D. O’Leary
2018 Ronald O. Steiner Award – Robert Van Ert

2017 Ronald O. Steiner Award – Mark Hady
2016 Ronald O. Steiner Award – Greg Dewitz
2015 Ronald O. Steiner Award – Tim Padesky
2014 Ronald O. Steiner Award – Gerald Schulz
2013 Ronald O. Steiner Award – Ronald L. Jahnke
2012 Ronald O. Steiner Award – James M. Eland
2011 Ronald O. Steiner Award – Bernie Cleppe
2011 Ronald O. Steiner Award – Joel Westphal

Upcoming Events

  • Office Closed: Fourth of July

  • 2024 Summer Meeting
    07/26/2024 - 07/28/2024
    La Crosse

  • Office Closed: Labor Day

  • Office Closed: Thanksgiving
    11/28/2024 - 11/29/2024

  • Office Closed: Christmas Eve & Day
    12/24/2024 - 12/25/2024

  • Membership

    Not a member? Join here >>>